About Passing-by and Staying in Place

World is so small. That’s what I’ve been thinking the last few days, because there has been some funny coincidences. First of all, there are a lot of tourists, but I think it’s still kind of weird that some Swedish tourists that went to the Gili’s at the same time as we did, were at Langkawi, at the same time. I mean, what are the odds that they decided to visit Langkawi’s Underwater World on the same day, at the same time?

Shark in the Underwater World.

Other weird coincidence was when we arrived to Langkawi. We shared a cab with a local cook, who works in Thailand, and he remembered me from few days before from Pangkor. I don’t recall seeing him though. Not to mention, I spent most of my time in Pangkor in the hotel room suffering from fever. And in the middle of Pangkor and Langkawi we did spend two nights in Penang too…

I just don’t get the equation: if the world is so small, why don’t I seem to have time to visit all the places I want to?

On our two nights pit-stop in Georgetown Penang we celebrated J’s birthday and for example strolled down the Love Lane in Chinatown.

Well, actually, staying still is nice too. I don’t have to be seeing new stuff all the time. Now, after 24 hours of traveling, we are in Thailand, in Pattaya, and we are going to stay foot for a week! Just to rest a little bit, before the last few weeks of the journey. And I must admit, even though we haven’t been here for long yet, I like having a nice hotel (with swimming pool! It’s the best one on this trip. We’ve spent nights in some real crappy-ones because it’s always only “one or two nights”), and being able to unpack for once. We stayed in Gili’s for a week too. but this is different, ’cause we already know it.

Our “home beach” in Pantai Cenang, Langkawi.

In the Gili’s every night we just decided over and over again that we didn’t want it to be the last one there…

But few words on Langkawi, where we still spent days efficiently. πŸ˜€ As mentioned, we visited the Underwater World, and on one of our three days there, we hired a driver (in other words booked a private tour) and searched the island. We took the Cable Car in Geopark up to over 600 meters above the sea level, and it’ was as cool as I had imagined. Even though, for a moment I was scared, when I started thinking what would happen, if the Cable Car would fall or break down. (Note to self: never start thinking things like that when you’re already trapped in 400 metres in a small carriage with 5 other people). It was also so windy up on the mountains…

Hanging Bridge, where the visitors get by Cable Car.

In addition, we visited a crocodile farm and a waterfall, and over all, got a good view of Langkawi. It surely is yet another holiday paradise, but somehow I was just relieved when we left. Maybe it was the knowledge of 10 times better (and 10 euros cheaper) hotel waiting in Thailand, compared to our chalet in Pantai Cenang… Or maybe just the fact, that for some reason Thailand has appeared to me recently a lot more interesting than before. First I wasn’t even sure if I wanted to come here, but now I think there’s a lot more to it, than the usual Finnish tourism-image has left me to believe. I guess I’ll just have to find out, if I’m not too busy sunbathing and swimming that is. πŸ˜‰

I fell in love with the Temurun waterfall and it’s cool water. If I were to live in Langkawi, that’s the place where I’d want to build my cottage…

Oh, and for those wondering the flood-situation down here: some places and roads were still covered with water in Bangkok. And the smell (at least near the bus station) was pretty stiff… But driving on most of the roads is anyway already possible, and big part of the city has probably gotten back to normal. Don’t know about the epidemics though, how strongly are diseases breaking loose?

Leave a Reply

