Spring Inspiration

Finally it’s possible to feel the warming sun and actually see something outside here in Finland too since it’s not dark all the time. I just love the first days of spring. If you look at the weather outside, this time our “winter holiday” (it’s really a weeks break meant for studying, but don’t wait for me essay…) couldn’t have a better timing. And first time in a long long while, I got inspired to do handicrafts.

The promise of the approaching summer always brings me this yearning for freshness and change. So I started by wanting a new wallpaper for my cell and took this photo.

Ah, love this picture for its colors...

But I’ve been strolling around clothing stores and that left me wanting for more, even though since I bought the new lens for my camera, I’m on a tight budget and strictly forbidden to buy new clothes (apparently fleemarket-clothes don’t count…). Staring at the two pairs of earrings I bought from Paris last fall, I got an idea. I decided to make a new spring-scarf by myself!

These gave the idea...

These gave me the idea...

I guess studying photography and living on my own (living adult life you know, paying bills etc.) has kept me too busy and killed all the creativity from my free time. So it felt so good to actually do something with my own hands for the first time in many years. I was surprised I actually got something done! I usually have thousands of ideas, but most of the time they just stay in my head… Well, maybe in several cases it’s only good that way. 😀 Anyway, I’m pleased that pile of fabric wasn’t completely ruined, or what do you think?

First I designed the pattern...

...and painted.

Then I added something pink, and later on some flowers.

And here's the outcome. Tadaa! 🙂

P.S. All of the pictures in this post are taken with Nokia N9, if you’re wondering about the quality. Not too bad, but I guess my canon and new lens could do so much better!

Leave a Reply

