Heja Stockholm!

Tomorrow after work I get to hop on on a train that takes me to Turku, where a ferry is waiting for me to take me to Stockholm! I’m so excited, so I’ve been already planning things that I could do over the weekend. I’ve visited Stockholm for several times and even lived there for a short while few years back, so I have some really familiar and favorite places there. Here’s few of them and some tips:

Södermalm: Take the metro to Mariatorget, climb first to Mariaberg for an awesome view over Old Town and Towns Hall. Then shop the second-hand shops of Hornsgatan or trendy shops of lovely Götgatan.

Treasures from the archive 1: On top of Mariaberg in fall 2007.

Gamla Stan (Old Town), just wander the streets or stop to atmospheric cafeterias (for example Chockladkoppen on Stortorget).

Djurgården is good for lazy sundays. I’ve heard Josefina has nice brunch…

Lidingö. That’s where I used to live. At least Millesgården is worth a visit. Say you’re going to the cafeteria, and you get to see the garden without an entrance fee.

Tresures from the archive 2: Sunset in Millesgården in Fall 2007.

-Of course shopping in downtown shouldn’t be forgotten. Shopping in Drottningsgatan is must, as is visiting “trash” and decoration shops Lagerhaus and Stockhome. And the American bakery stand in Gallerian (between Sergelstorg and Kungsträdgården) has the best brownies in town, served with ice-cream if you wish…

Ah, Stockholm! Here I come again!

One thought on “Heja Stockholm!

Leave a Reply

