Big 7

ru6a1758A safari was a must for me in South Africa. We traveled over 700 kilometres by a bus from Cape Town to Port Elizabeth to visit the Addo Elephant National Park. It was a clear choice because it was much more closer than the famous Krueger near Johannesburg, and it has the possibbility to see the big 7 instead of “just” big 5. And that’s what we did! It means that besides lions, leopards, rhinos, elephants and buffalos you might be able to spot two more from the ocean: southern right whales and great white sharks. Even though – for my disappointment – I learned that great white sharks are hardly ever seen on the safari. So if you really want to see great white sharks I guess cage diving with them would be the best option, but that’s something I would never want to experience. I would have wanted to see one from a safe distance! 😀

Addo is the 3rd largest National Park in South Africa and the biggest, where you don’t have to worry about malaria – which is a big plus for travelers! We did our Big 7 with Alan Tours, I had heard lot of positive feed back from them and  wasn’t disappointed. You can also drive to Addo by yourself, but I believe we wouldn’t have spotted as many animals without our guide, as most of my knowledge about the wildlife in Africa was based on the Lion King. 😉 And if you want to do the big 7 you need to book the marine tour anyway… You can read more about Alan Tours and our safari here.  We didn’t see all of the big 7 seven, but I was still positively surprised that we saw so many animals. And not catching all of them on the first time just leaves more a reason to go on a safari again…. 😉

ru6a1176

ru6a1192

This was the first time I saw whale(s)! And we were told this Bryde’s whale is a really hard one to catch!

ru6a1215

ru6a1270

We went snorkeling with these cute cape fur seals in Cape Town, but I could’t tag my camera along to the water, so it was nice to see one on the safari too.

ru6a1249ru6a1283ru6a1364ru6a1421ru6a1506ru6a1520ru6a1648ru6a1651ru6a1710ru6a1713ru6a1726

Leave a Reply

