Traveling with man’s best friend?

ru6a9608Being a dog owner will inevitably affect traveling. During the four years I have had my chihuahua, I’ve been able to travel because I know he’ll be in good care when I’m gone. It just needs more organizing. Always before booking flights or making plans, I have to make sure he will be taken care of. But of course it has also crossed my mind several times, that could I take my dog with?

While I was in South Africa my chihu got really sick, and I felt bad not being able to be with him. But would it have been better for him to be in a very different country, get through long stressful flights and be vulnerable to all the strange diseases and bacteria? I don’t think so. Not to mention that dogs can’t be taken to many places (museums, sights, some restaurants?), which brings more challenge to traveling. So combining traveling and pets isn’t easy, and it’s important to think all the pros and cons, what’s best for your pet? Because it should be always put first.

Anyway, I think that maybe some kind of trips with dogs could be done. And at it’s best I believe a holiday with a pet could be amazing. So next Friday, me and my dog U venture to our first trip abroad together – as far as Sweden. 😀 Sweden is close to Finland, easily accessible and I know Stockholm very well, that’s where we will spend a week. I’m only stressed about how will U react to traveling with a boat? With a private cabin it shouldn’t be too hard as long as the sea stays calm? Another thing is, that we have to visit the vet in Stockholm, to get the tapeworm treatment as Sweden has tapeworms and Finland doesn’t. I’m always nervous about how U will react to different medicine, but it shouldn’t be too dangerous, right?

Anyone here with experience on traveling with a dog? What should you take into consideration when traveling with a pet? Do you think it’s better to leave your dog at home or take him with you?ru6a9638ru6a9614

You can follow U’s adventures on his Instagram account.

2 thoughts on “Traveling with man’s best friend?

  1. I agree with you that on some trips it’s better to leave them at home with a good pet sitter. When I go to Japan I leave her since I couldn’t take her anywhere or even find a hotel or rbnb and she’d have to stay 3 weeks in the airport which I’d have to pay too . It’s hard enough sometimes finding a restaurant that is dog friendly in Paris so abroad… I’d love to take her to London but British regulations are ultra strict so for now it’s trips in France. She has long legs too so finding a bag is a challenge.

    • Yes, that is a completely different story if a dog had to be in quarantine for days or weeks when traveling to some place, I could never do that to my dog! And I bet there are more challenges with bigger dogs, my chihuahua is so small he can fit into almost any bag. But traveling inside country’s own borders is nice too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

