Traveling with the Dog – Stockholm Edition

P1020994So how was it – traveling with man’s best friend? Well, I got to say I’m glad I tried it, but I don’t think my chihuahua will be a world traveler anytime soon. 😀

I decided to list some pros and cons I discovered during our week in Stockholm. I guess the most important thing in traveling with your pet is that your pet is social and fine with the situations. But after this trip, I guess it all might be a bit too much for mine.

P1010987

Let’s start with pros:

+ You won’t miss you your dog, because he’s with you!

+ You get different experiences when you have to think your trip the dog friendly way

+ It might be easier to get contact to locals as you have a dog as ice breaker

P1020003

…And the cons:

-It’s stressful and more work: customs, vaccinations, dog might be stressed…? Even when you want to get a taxi you have to make sure dogs are allowed.

-Is the apartment/hotel/cabin dog friendly? You might have to start your vacation cleaning the place so your four legged friend won’t get anything suspicious to eat/chew!

-It costs more money: You might have to pay ticket for your dog too or get a vaccination/medication before/during the trip, like we did.

P1010977

Also summer time would be better to travel with a dog – then you can just hang out outside too!

2 thoughts on “Traveling with the Dog – Stockholm Edition

  1. Yes wondering whether a place is dog friendly when you travel changes everything . It’s hard enough in Paris when I don’t know if I’ll be accepted in shops so abroad… I know in Japan it would be impossible and I couldn’t find a place to rent plus the trip would be too hard. I may take my dog to London for a try since English people are more dog friendly than us I think. Lucky you you have a small dog that fits in a bag easily!

Leave a Reply

